December 1, 2021, 11:26 AM

In the wake of the newly emerged ‘Omicron’ variant of COVID-19, the Maharashtra government, on Tuesday, November 30, issued orders mandating all international passengers arriving from ‘at-risk’ countries to undergo a mandatory seven-day institutional quarantine.
The travellers would be required to pay for their quarantine at designated hotels, isolation centres and other recognised places for quarantine.
In addition to this, these passengers would also be required to take a mandatory RT-PCR test for COVID thrice - on the second, fourth, and seventh days post-arrival.
Passengers arriving from non ‘at-risk’ nations would be treated according to the norms of the Central government, the order read.
The travellers, who would test COVID positive, would be shifted to a hospital. Those testing negative, would undergo an additional seven days of home quarantine.
According to the order, ‘at-risk’ for now included national like the United Kingdom, all 44 countries in Europe, South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong, and Israel.
Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, on Tuesday, November 30, had said in the Rajya Sabha that no case of the ‘Omicron’ variant was detected in India.

To Comment please login Add Comment

Latest Articles